Artist of the Week: Sigur Rós/Jónsi

28/01/2013 § Leave a comment

sigur_ros_by_just_shant

Sigur Rós is an Icelandic band, well known for their unique style and sound, music videos that are different from the normal. They’re also independent, not under any contract at all and yet they’ve made it, they’re well known and are doing quite well compared to they are an Indie band.

I think it’s the unique sound that they have that makes me connect to my country that makes me love them so much. I know I’ve mentioned them before, and I really do think that everyone should give them a chance an try to listen to a song. Their unique sound is not for anyone of course.

Hoppípolla is probably one of their most famous songs, has been used in many movies/tv-shows that I’m sure you’ve heard it at least once. It’s music video is amazing, showing old people acting like young kids playing.

Jónsi, the lead singer had also given out a solo album, which is just as great as the other albums the band has made.

Here are a few of my favorites:

Hoppípolla

Glósól

Svefn-g-englar (here Sigur Rós used actors with disabilities to act out the angels)

Kolniður (from Jónsi’s solo album) This song does not have a music video, however I found this BEAUTIFUL video that shows Iceland around the time Eyjafjallajökull glacier erupted and you can hear the song as well as see my country.

Varúð (from their newest album, I have already shown you guys this song)

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Artist of the Week: Sigur Rós/Jónsi at my cup of tea.

meta

