Books I recommend and books I’m going to read

08/08/2013 § Leave a comment

MebwNA

People say that I read a lot. I kind of agree, just that it’s not mainly books I read most of the time.

I’m going to be honest with you.

You can laugh at my face, make jokes and tease me as you please but the truth is… I used to read A LOT of fan fiction. No joke.

These days I read mostly books and stories people upload on Wattpad, mainly werewolf and romance stories. And yes, I love werewolf and witch stories. Used to love vampire ones as well but now… meh.

So most of my books on my shelf are fantasy and romance but I do read other types. Now I’m going to give you a list of books I’ve read that I highly recommend. Starting with children’s’ books (the best books I read as a kid) and ending with young adult/adult. Then I’m going to make a list of books I’m going to read that people have recommended to me. By telling you I’m going to read them puts me in the position that I have to read them since I said I would. And I really think it’s time I read them!

These books are in no best/worst order or anything like that, just books I like in random order. I realized that most of them are children’s books but then again I read a lot as a kid, but much less now.  My goal is that I’m going to try to read much more.

One of those simple pleasures in my life is a good book combined with a good cup of tea dressed in pajamas.

Mrs-Piggle-Wiggle

1. Mrs. Piggle-Wiggle

If you have kids,nephews,nieces, grandkids or anything of sort I can guarantee you will be the favorite aunt to them if you read these books (series) for them. Mrs. Piggle-Wiggle is a another version of Mary Poppins. All of the stories I read were about a child/children that had to do a certain chore the did absolutely not like. That’s when Mrs.Piggle-Wiggle comes in and make the chore something fun.

charlottes-web1

2.Charlotte’s Web

Once when I was six, I asked my mom for a cat. My mom said no sadly. Than I asked for a dog. Again no she said and explained that she and dad were allergic to animals with fur. Little Védís thought for a good moment until she smiled and said.

“Mom, I want a pig.”

This is now a famous line in my family, later I found out that pigs have hair, not all six-year olds know that. My moms’ good friend Phoebe and her daughter Quinn, that I became friends with also, gave me a bright pink pig lantern, a pig calendar with cute dressed up piglets and Charlotte’s Web on VCR, the cartoon version. Later I read the book. I was quite pleased and loved the movie and story.

This is a true story!

harry potter

3.Harry Potter Series

Magic,evil lord and an orphan. Don’t feel like I need to introduce Harry Potter.

golden compass

4. His Dark Materials Series (first book also known as The Golden Compass)

A mystical world were people have familiars, animals that represent you. For instance each servant in this book as a dog as a familiar, since dogs are obedient.

Includes gypsies, witches (the good type), angels, a magical compass that tells the past,future and the present and a brave girl who saves the world from falling into darkness.

narnia

5. The Chronicles of Narnia

Lot’s a stories that happen in an unusual world called Narnia where animals can talk, evil witches take control, dangerous high seas and the true king is a lion called Aslan, which is I believe the only character that shows up in every book (haven’t read them all, only most of them)

Hale_GooseGirl

6. The Books of Bayern

People that can control the four elements medieval times, loss, war and love mixed up in these series. Click the link because I’m quite tongue-tied with this one.

witchesjpg-bc22b1201cae9829

7. The Discovery of Witches

Just finished this one, really loved it though it is quite long! Witches, Vampires and Daemons live hidden in our world and there are strict laws that command no two creatures to be together because they draw attention to humans, even more when there are two of different kinds together. Lots of secrets are hidden deep and one woman wants answers, answers that only she can find in a very strange book called Ashmole 782.

Also read the second book and I can’t wait for the third!

The-Secret-Life-of-Bees

8.The Secret Life of Bees

No words can describe the beauty in this novel. Do yourself a favor and add this to your bucket list. You won’t regret it.

the-hobbit-book

9.The Hobbit

Same goes for this book, I’m tongue-tied. Just 100% plain pleasurable writing on every single page.

little bee

10.The Other Hand /Little Bee

I read Little Bee for school, and have got to say, this touched my heart. I haven’t cried this much for a book since A Secret Life of Bees, which I read a few years back. If you liked either one you should check the other.

81rvXnE9s1L._SL1500_

11. Darren Shan Series

This is for you if you don’t like much sappy, cheesy scenes in books. These series have none. Maybe because there are only two female characters that ever get a voice in the books but non the less I loved them. Might read them again since it’s been a while.

anne_custom-b30488d8985648bdc030f73c9f6c2ac7ae1674e0-s6-c30

12. The Diary of Anne Frank

This is also something everyone must read, put it on your bucket list. It changed my life. I read it while I learned about WW2 in elementary school. It took me a while to take it all in afterward.

Books I’m going to read:

Life of Pi

The Da Vinci Code

Angels and Demons

The Wind in the Willows

Persuasion

Jane Eyre

Little Women

Dracula

Update 11.8.13 : The Kite Runner

I think that’s a good start. We’ll see how it goes.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Books I recommend and books I’m going to read at my cup of tea.

meta

